Me and My Family

Hello my name is Cigdem Hodgkiss.
I am a registered Ofsted approved and insured childminder and I have two beautiful children, Abigail and Ethan.
I live with my husband Gavin, who is an IT Manager.  I enjoy working with children and accepting them into our home.

My Home and Facilities

Children’s needs are best met when space and resources allow children to play and learn.
My home environment is warm and welcoming to children and parents/guardians.
It is safe and secure, with space organised and used to promote children’s development.
I live in a large 4 bedroom house with a good garden for outdoor activities, and a kitchen / dinning room where we eat meals and do Art and Crafts and baking activities (dependant of age).

There is a lounge for quiet time and a playroom used for larger activities such as role play, dancing, skittles etc, plus a downstairs toilet.
I am registered to care for up to 5 children under the age of 8 years.
All references can be seen in my Portfolio or on demand.
All records of children and parents/guardians are kept accurate and up to date, they are stored securely and kept confidential at all times.

Equal Opportunities / Inclusion

I give all children in my care the opportunity to reach their full potential. Sometimes this means adapting an activity to the child’s ability and stage of development, providing additional resources or giving one child more attention and support than others during a particular activity or routine.

All children in my care are given the opportunity to play with all the toys (subject to health and safety with children under 3 years of age). No toys are just for girls or just for boys. I try to ensure my toys reflect positive images of children and people from different cultures and with different abilities. I have toys and resources that challenge stereotypical ideas on what careers are open to men and women.

No child in my care will be discriminated against in anyway, whether for their skin colour, culture, gender, ability or religion. I will challenge any remarks that I feel are inappropriate.

I encourage the children in my care to learn more about their own culture and to find out about the culture and religions of other children. We do in this in a fun way through sharing books, colouring sheets, cooking and eating food from around the world and celebrating special festivals. I provide resources such as woks and chopsticks, dressing up clothes and multicultural skin tone crayons and pencils.

I encourage the children to develop a healthy respect of each other’s differences and to value everyone as an individual.

If you have any concerns regarding this policy please discuss them with me